New COVID-19 Protocol: Sheltering Exposed Pets

Following yesterday’s publication of “Interim recommendations for intake of companion animals from households where humans with COVID-19 are present,” the University of Wisconsin-Madison Shelter Medicine Program has made available a sample protocol that you can customize for your shelter. The protocol addresses intake exams, housing, in-shelter daily care, and release.

Download the protocol here and familiarize yourself with the latest lifesaving recommendations on intake of pets from households where humans with coronavirus are present.

Important Webinar–Save the Date!

Dr. Sandra Newbury and the University of Wisconsin Shelter Medicine team will present a webinar on these recommendations.

Thursday, April 2
2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. MT/11:30 a.m. PT

Attend: https://zoom.us/j/924884168 
Meeting ID: 924 884 168
Submit questions about recommendations here >>

In advance, the presenters ask that you review the “Temporary sheltering of pets exposed to COVID-19 and recommendations for their care” and sample protocol chapters of the ‘Animal Services’ Role in COVID-19 Support’ Info Sheet, which you can find here.

You can also follow University of Wisconsin Shelter Medicine on Facebook for the latest details.

Go-To Resource

University of Wisconsin Shelter Medicine: COVID-19 Information

Bookmark this page as it’s updated regularly with the latest recommendations for animal shelter functions, spay/neuter and transport practices during this pandemic.


The Association

The Association is the only international society of leaders actively leading and managing community animal shelters/animal control agencies.


'New COVID-19 Protocol: Sheltering Exposed Pets' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

2020 Copyright The Association for Animal Welfare Advancement